I Saw Death Coming : A History of Terror and Survival in the War Against Reconstruction By Kidada E. Williams

$30.00
Article number: 9781635576634
Availability: In stock (22)

Join us to celebrate this book with Wayne State University Professor of History Dr. Kidada E. Williams on the pub day of  January 17th. Celebrate with us HERE!

In I Saw Death Coming, Kidada E. Williams offers a breakthrough account of the much-debated Reconstruction period, transporting readers into the daily existence of formerly enslaved people building hope-filled new lives. Drawing on overlooked sources and bold new readings of the archives, Williams offers a revelatory and, in some cases, minute-by-minute record of nighttime raids and Ku Klux Klan strikes. And she deploys cutting-edge scholarship on trauma to consider how the effects of these attacks would linger for decades—indeed, generations—to come.

For readers of Carol Anderson, Tiya Miles, and Clint Smith, I Saw Death Coming is an indelible and essential book that speaks to some of the most pressing questions of our times.

0 stars based on 0 reviews